100% raw improves assimilation?

achin70achin70 Raw Newbie

For any of you out there who are 100% raw, do you find it improves assilimation over time? I’m still having a little trouble maintaining my weight. I need about 2600 calories at 85% raw to maintain my weight.

I’m going to Patagona, AZ at the end of the month for the Vegan and Live Food Mastery program at Tree of Life, and I will be 100% raw for a month. When I get back, I don’t want to yo-yo back and forth, so I intend to stay 100% raw.

Any info on your experiences would be much appreciated! :)

Comments

• angie207angie207 Raw Master

Wow, I’m envious of your opportunity! I eat less food when eating raw than I do when eating cooked food, because I get what I need (vitamins, minerals, etc.) in smaller amounts of food. I have been eating high-raw for about 3 years now. Greens seem to give me a lot of what I need nutritionally and nuts, oils, avocados, etc. help to give me the more substantial calories – I have to eat a lot, but definitely less on raw after the first year or so. I would expect that the amount of time it takes to decrease food consumption probably depends on how nutritionally depleted you are/were before raw, as well as the nutritional value of the raw foods you eat. I also haven’t checked my calorie consumption for a long time, so I’m not sure how it has changed exactly; it just seems that I used to always be starving, and now I don’t feel that way very often.

• achin70achin70 Raw Newbie

Thanks for the info! I’m going for it. Even if 100% raw doesn’t work out, the effort is what counts.

Yes, I got the e-mail offering 10 spots for the program a couple weeks ago, and I jumped at the opportunity! :)

• i have to apologize cos people are gonna get very tired of me soon, but i have to point it out

if you need 2600 calories (85 % raw) to maintain your weight ( assuming you want to do this), then you’ll need the same amount of calories raw to maintain your weight